Protect Your Privacy By Turning Off AI On LinkedIn
LinkedIn, of all sites we use on the internet, has more personal information than most. On LinkedIn, we provide our home address, phone number, email address, and resume with job history. Not sure about you, but that is not information that I want to provide to train anyone’s AI system. Like other technology companies, LinkedIn has AI, and it is turned on by default (Opt-in). Today’s post will go over the setting you need to look at to turn off (Opt-out) of LinkedIn AI training.
Why Do You Want To Turn Off The AI Features
Here is the thing with technology companies, especially ones that are global, you are at their mercy. There is no local office to walk into, and contacting a human in a tech support department is virtually impossible. When you put your information (documents, pictures, or anything else) in “the cloud,” you can only hope that the company you are giving your information to keeps your information secure.
Once you hand your data to any company in the cloud, you no longer control it, and anything can happen to it now or in the future. Giving my data for AI is especially concerning since AI can have a mind of its own.
The LinkedIn AI Settings
The following steps will take you to the LinkedIn settings you want to review.
Via the LinkedIn website
- Click on your Name/Picture on the top right -> In the drop down that opens click on Settings & Privacy
- On the window that opens, click on Data Privacy

- Now click on Policy and Academic Research and turn off this setting. Once off click the back button in that window.

- Now click on the Data for Generative AI Improvement and turn off this setting.

On The LinkedIn App (both Android and Apple)
- Click on your profile picture (top left)
- Click on Settings & Privacy
- Click on Data Privacy
- Click on Policy and Academic Research -> Turn off setting
Click back in the window to get to the data privacy options
- Click on the Data for Generative AI Improvement -> Turn off setting
Final Thoughts
When a company creates and turns on settings (Opt-In) by default, I do not trust what they will do in the future. The data is yours, and you should control what is allowed to be done with it.





