A New Pop-Up Window Coming Up In Microsoft Teams
For users who just installed Microsoft Teams on a new device, or who just updated to the latest version of Microsoft Teams, there are reports of a new pop-up window that has not previously been seen. Today’s post will review the new window in Microsoft Teams and what it actually does.
The New Pop-Up Being Seen – Asking Primary Use For Teams
The new pop up asks the user What is your primary use for Teams? Giving the user 6 options, including an option for None of these.

According to the information provided by the Microsoft Support Page,
The onboarding survey will ask about your primary use and your role.
- “What is your primary use for Teams?” – Choose one option that best matches how you plan to use Teams.
- “Which role best describes you?” – You will see options based on the answer for primary use.
- Confirmation – The screen will confirm your choices are saved.
What happens after you complete the survey
- Teams may slightly personalize your experience
- Your answers are saved securely and synced across your devices.
- You won’t see this experience again once it’s completed.
Once you fill in the prompts, you will get a Thank You screen and that completes the prompts.

With the limited information provided by Microsoft on what slightly personalized means, our Recommendation is to select None of these as the option. When you select None of these, you will NOT get a second screen question.
Microsoft Teams Settings To Review
To access the Microsoft Teams settings, look at the top right and click on the 3 dots next to your picture, and then click on the settings option.

Once in the settings page, click on Privacy on the left and then look at the bottom 2 options listed.

- Optional connected experiences
- Allows for you to use GIPHY for GIFs in your Teams chats. If you choose to use it, your use is subject to GIPHY’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. The URL Preview service automatically generates a preview snippet and attaches the URL below it when a user sends a URL string.
- Experiences that analyze your content
- These are Microsoft’s built‑in, cloud‑powered tools that analyze your Teams content to make it smarter, more accessible, or more actionable. Otherwise known as Microsoft AI.
Recommendation for both is to turn them off.
Final Thought
These settings are specific to Microsoft Teams. There are additional settings built into your overall Microsoft account, in addition to settings in each Microsoft product. There are multiple areas that you have to review, if you really want to control what information you share. Keep checking back with Tech Geek and More, we will continue to post information on what you should be reviewing.
Source:
- Microsoft – Support Page / Set Up Survey
- Microsoft – Support Page / Connected Experiences






