Facebook Users Getting Fake Verification Messages
Its Not uncommon for social media users, not just Meta users, to get fake phishing messages. Most of the time, the messages are very obvious in that they are not legit. However, users are receiving a new message via Facebook Messaging that is among the better phishing attempts. Today’s post will go over what to look for in this latest Meta phishing attempt. Phishing: FB Fake Message Alert
FB Meta Verrified Message
The sender claims the message comes from @ Meta Verrified. Two r’s misspell Verrified, which should tip you off that this is a phishing message. Underneath, where it says Meta Verrified, it will list someone you know on your friends list. It is most likely that the person listed has fallen for this fake message and entered their information, which compromised their account and triggered the message to be sent to all of their friends.

Like all phishing messages, this one tries to push a sense of urgency.
- Unusual activity on your account that violates copyright policy.
- If you believe this is a mistake, ensure you are the account owner and are NOT VIOLATING Meta’s Terms of Service.
- If you fail to complete the verification process within 24 hours, your social media life will be PERMANENTLY DISABLED.
And there always seems to be an attached file, in this case, a PDF. Funny, when you click on the PDF, it actually opens a page with a convincing Meta logo.

The page that opens, if you look at the address at the top of the page, has an address that includes run.place/login. That is another tip that you are not looking at a legit Facebook or Meta message. In addition, the message on this page says you need to verify your information because of “serious violations of community standards”. The 1st message you received was about copyright violations or unusual activity.
If you were to enter your information on this page, you would be handing the scammer who is phishing your Meta credentials. And remember, Meta credentials are used on more than 1 page, and many people use the same credentials for everything, including non-Meta sites, so once you fill in your information on this page, you would have one MAJOR HEADACHE on your hands.
NOTE – Others have seen the same message, but the sender is showing as META AI ASSISTANT.
Final Thoughts
If you get one of these messages, DON’T FALL FOR IT. Immediately block and remove the message. All notify the person you may see listed on the message (under Meta Verrify) that they need to check their permissions and reset passwords to any account that uses the same information as their Meta account.
Phishing: FB Fake Message Alert






