IDrive Remote Backup
Google Making Changes To Its Terms Of Service (TOS)

Google Making Changes To Its Terms Of Service (TOS)

If you visit any of the Google sites (while signed into Google), you will come across a message from Google that says “Hi there. Our new Terms of Service update how we display your information in content & ads (https://www NULL.google NULL.com/intl/en/policies/terms/changes/)”. The message allows you to click a “learn more” button to see what this is all about. It seems that Google is planning on implementing something similar to the Facebook “sponsored storied” but in Google’s case, what they are asking is a lot more user-friendly.

image

Here are the details to the changes….

According to Google there are 3 changes (even though only 1 is an actual change the other 2 items listed are recommendations). The changes as listed by Google will take effect on November 11, 2013 and are as follows

  • First, clarifying how your Profile name and photo might appear in Google products (including in reviews, advertising and other commercial contexts).
    • You can control whether your image and name appear in ads via the Shared Endorsements setting (https://plus NULL.google NULL.com/settings/endorsements?hl=en).

How your Profile name and photo may appear (including in reviews and advertising)

We want to give you – and your friends and connections – the most useful information. Recommendations from people you know can really help. So your friends, family and others may see your Profile name and photo, and content like the reviews you share or the ads you +1’d. This only happens when you take an action (things like +1’ing, commenting or following) – and the only people who see it are the people you’ve chosen to share that content with. On Google, you’re in control of what you share. This update to our Terms of Service doesn’t change in any way who you’ve shared things with in the past or your ability to control who you want to share things with in the future.

Feedback from people you know can save you time and improve results for you and your friends across all Google services, including Search, Maps, Play and in advertising. For example, your friends might see that you rated an album 4 stars on the band’s Google Play page. And the +1 you gave your favorite local bakery could be included in an ad that the bakery runs through Google. We call these recommendations shared endorsements and you can learn more about them here (https://support NULL.google NULL.com/plus/?hl=en&p=plus_sesetting).

When it comes to shared endorsements in ads, you can control the use of your Profile name and photo via the Shared Endorsements setting (https://plus NULL.google NULL.com/settings/endorsements?hl=en). If you turn the setting to “off,” your Profile name and photo will not show up on that ad for your favorite bakery or any other ads. This setting only applies to use in ads, and doesn’t change whether your Profile name or photo may be used in other places such as Google Play.

If you previously told Google that you did not want your +1’s to appear in ads, then of course we’ll continue to respect that choice as a part of this updated setting. For users under 18, their actions won’t appear in shared endorsements in ads and certain other contexts.

For greater control over your experience with ads on Google, you can also use Google’s Ads Settings tool (https://www NULL.google NULL.com/settings/ads?hl=en) to manage ads you see. Learn more (https://support NULL.google NULL.com/ads/answer/2662856?hl=en).

If you visit the Shared Endorsements page (https://plus NULL.google NULL.com/settings/endorsements?hl=en), you will find the type of shared endorsements that you could appear in. However, as opposed to what Facebook has done, on Google you can choose if you want to be included. If you do not check the box, you will not be part of the shared endorsement.

image

 

  • Second, a reminder to use your mobile devices safely.

 

Use your mobile devices safely

It’s just good common sense: Don’t use our services if you’re doing something that requires your full attention, like driving, and our services might distract you. And, of course, always follow the law while driving.

 

  • Third, details on the importance of keeping your password confidential.

Be careful with your password

Our top priority is keeping your information safe and secure. Your Google username and password let you access lots of useful things – your Gmail messages, Google+ photos, YouTube videos, Google Contacts list and more. Anyone you give your login details to could use them to access your Google Account and the stuff you store with Google. So if you’re asked for your password, think twice and consider whether there might be safer and more secure ways to share the information.

If we see something out of the ordinary (such as if we notice failed attempts to login to your account, or two logins to your account within a short time frame, but from computers located very far away from each other) you may see an unusual activity alert (https://support NULL.google NULL.com/accounts/answer/1144110?hl=en).

Source: Google (https://www NULL.google NULL.com/intl/en/policies/terms/changes/)